How to set up [sharing settings] on the ASUS WebStorage app from your phone or tablet

You can share a file or folder with others from your phone or tablet in the following ways, and set access permissions based on your needs.

iPhone/iPad

[Public share]

If you set the file/folder as [public], it means that everyone who has the shared link can access the file/folder, even if he or she doesn’t have an ASUS Cloud ID.

Please refer to the following steps to set the file/folder as [public]:

  1. Launch the ASUS WebStorage app.

  2. Click the three-dot icon next to the file/folder.

  3. Click [sharing settings].

  4. Set the file/folder’s access permission as [public].

  5. In the permission setting section, you can set the permission of the shared link as [users can view and download] or [view only].

-[Users can view and download]: Users who have the shared link can view and download the file/folder.

-[View only]: Users who have the shared link can only view the file/folder.

6. Click [share link security settings] to choose whether to set a password and expiration date for the shared link.

-[Link password settings]: Only users who know the password can access the link.

-[Link expiration date]: After the expiration date, the link will automatically expire.

7. After the setting is complete, you can click [copy and send link] to share the file/folder with others.

 

[Share only with collaborators]

If you set the file/folder as [share only with collaborators], it means that you are going to share the file/folder with a specific person, and he or she must have an ASUS Cloud ID.

Please refer to the following steps to set the file/folder as [share only with collaborators]:

  1. Launch the ASUS WebStorage app.

  2. Click the three-dot icon next to the file/folder.

  3. Click [sharing settings].

  4. Set the file/folder’s access permission as [share only with collaborators].

  5. In the member list section, click [share with___members].

  6. Click [+] in the upper right corner to add members.

  7. Enter the member’s ASUS Cloud ID, then click [add the collaborators].

  8. Click the eye or pencil icon next to the member's ASUS Cloud ID. Then, you can set the member permissions as [can edit] or [view only]. 

-[Can edit]: Members can add, create, modify, delete and download the file/folder.

After you set the member permission as [can edit], you can also give the member [manageable members] status.

-[Manageable members]: Members will have all the permissions of [can edit], and they can also add, change, or delete members. Members will have the same level of access to the files/folders as their owners.

-[View only]: Members can view or download the file/folder.

9. Click [share link security settings] to choose whether to set an expiration date for the file/folder.

-[Link expiration date]: After the expiration date, the link will automatically expire.

10. After the setting is completed, both you and the members will receive a notification email from our system.

 

Android

[Public share]

If you set the file/folder as [public share], It means that everyone who has the shared link can access the file/folder, even if he or she doesn’t have an ASUS Cloud ID.

Please refer to the following steps to set the file/folder as [public share]:

  1. Launch the ASUS WebStorage app.

  2. Click the three-dot icon next to the file/folder.

  3. Click [sharing settings].

  4. Set the file/folder’s access permission as [public share].

  5. In the permission setting section, you can set the permission of the shared link as [users can view and download] or [view only].

-[User can view and download]: Users who have the shared link can view and download the file/folder.

-[View only]: Users who have the shared link can only view the file/folder.

6. Click [share link security settings] to choose whether to set a password and expiration date for the shared link.

-[Link password settings]: Only users who know the password can access the link.

-[Link expiration date]: After the expiration date, the link will automatically expire.

7. After the setting is complete, you can click [copy and send link] to share the file/folder with others.

[Share only with collaborators]

If you set the file/folder as [share only with collaborators], it means that you are going to share the file/folder with a specific person, and he or she must have an ASUS Cloud ID.

Please refer to the following steps to set the file/folder as [share only with collaborators]:

  1. Launch the ASUS WebStorage app.

  2. Click the three-dot icon next to the file/folder.

  3. Click [sharing settings].

  4. Set the file/folder’s access permission as [share only with collaborators ].

  5. In the member list section, click [share with___members].

  6. Click [+] in the upper right corner to add members.

  7. Enter the member’s ASUS Cloud ID, then click [confirm].

  8. Click the eye or pencil icon next to the member's ASUS Cloud ID. Then, you can set the member permissions as [editing allowed] or [view only]. 

-[Editing allowed]: Members can add, create, modify, delete and download file/folder.

After you set the member permission as [editing allowed], you can also give the member [manageable members] status.

-[Manageable Members]: members will have all the permissions of [editing allowed], and they can also add, change, or delete members. Members will have the same level of access to the files/folders as their owners.

-[View only]: Members can view or download the file/folder.

9. Click [share link security settings] to choose whether to set an expiration date for the file/folder.

-[Link expiration date]: After the expiration date, the link will automatically expire.

10. After the setting is completed, both you and the members will receive a notification email from our system.

Was this article helpful?